Digital Access

Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for News Tribune email newsletters and stay in the know.
Prep Sports

BRIEFS: L-P football hands out awards

After its first playoff season in a decade, the La Salle-Peru football team recently presented awards at its banquet.

Quarterback Tyler Hartman won the Ed Merriman Offensive Back Award and also earned First-Team Academic All-State.

Nick Krolak earned the WLPO Defensive Lineman Award and was honorable mention Illinois Foot-ball Coaches Association Class 5A All-State. Logan Turigliatti took home the WLPO Offensive Lineman Award.

Nathan Hachenberger won the William A. Pelkey Persistence of Effort Award, Parker Swiskoski won the L-P Youth Football Award and Payton Piraino earned the C.L. Tiny Dungan Spirit Award.

First-Team All-Interstate Eight picks for the Cavaliers were Krolak, Hartman, Turigliatti, Hachenberger and Piraino, while Swiskoski, Julius Sanchez, Carlos Larios, Jake Wagner and Drake Weber were honor-able mention all-conference.

Academic all-conference honoreers were Hartman, Larios, Sanchez, Maverick Andrews, Andrew De-Maso, Nolan Hamilton, Luke Keating, Ethan Tarkowski, Jeremy Zurinski, Sean Whitfield, Aiden Van Duzer and Will Daugherty, while Hachenberger, Swiskoski, Michael Hammen, Evan Hardy, Logan Jones, Adam Kofoid, Reese Kurtz, Eric Lane, Garret Merboth, Carson Mrowicki, Levi Reed, Nathan Zimbelmen, Chris Swayne and Tre’Von Hunter were honorable mention.

L-P grad Gibson helps Wright State to NCAA tournament berth

La Salle-Peru graduate Taylor Gibson will compete in the NCAA Tournament as a member of the Wright State University volleyball team.

Gibson and her Raider teammates made history this season as the first WSU volleyball team to qualify for the NCAA Tournament and the first WSU team in any sport to earn an at-large bid to an NCAA Tournament.

The Raiders won 24 matches and claimed the Horizon League regular season championship.

Gibson is third on the team with 279 kills.

Bureau Valley tops Putnam County on buzzer beater

Dalton Dean drained a 3-pointer at the buzzer to lift the Bureau Valley boys basketball team to a 65-63 victory over Putnam County on the final day of the Wally Keller Invitational on Saturday at Wethersfield in Kewanee.

L-O takes third in AFC tournament

Casen Cherry scored 17 points and grabbed 15 rebounds Saturday to help the LaMoille-Ohio boys basketball team to a 52-39 victory over Ashton-Franklin Center in the third-place game of the A-FC Thanksgiving Tournament.

Marcus Winn added 10 points and seven assists for the Lions.

Henry beats ROWVA-Williamsfield

Griffin Self scored 13 points to lead the Henry-Senachwine boys basketball team to a 45-32 victory over ROWVA-Williamsfield at the Williamsfield Thanksgiving Tournament.

John Rediger and Ethan Condit scored nine points each for the Mallards (3-1), who can claim the tournament title with a win over Galva tonight.

Princeton goes 1-1

The Princeton boys basketball team went 1-1 on the final day of the Geneseo Thanksgiving Tourna-ment.

The Tigers beat Rock Falls 57-49 before losing 65-38 to United Township.

Jamie Reinhardt made the all-tournament team for PHS.

MHS girls lose to Sandwich

Amellia Bromenschenkel scored 20 points, grabbed eight rebounds and had three steals Saturday as the Mendota girls basketball team lost 35-31 to Sandwich in a non-conference game in Sandwich.

Loading more