The Big Rivers Conference released its all-conference teams for football.

Ottawa Marquette (1-8) and Amboy/LaMoille (8-1) led the area teams with 13 players each earning a spot on the all-conference team. Bureau Valley (7-2) had 10 players honored, St. Bede (4-5) had seven players selected and River Valley (0-9) had two players on the team.

The Crusaders had three two-way selections as Robbie Dunn was a first-team choice at running back and an honorable mention pick at punter, Adam Kanavos earned honorable mention at center and linebacker and Josiah Haines was named to the second team as a defensive lineman and honorable mention as a wide receiver.

Other Crusaders earning a spot were running back Blake Poundstone (first team), quarterback Zak Worsley (honorable mention), guards Justin Dyche and Payton Jensen (honorable mention), tackle Josh McLaughlin (honorable mention), tackle Nick McLaughlin (first team), linebacker Bryan LeRette (honorable mention), defensive back D.J. Aussen (second team) and defensive back Jared Jessen (honorable mention).

The Clippers had six players selected all-conference at multiple positions. Linemen Levi Kaleel and Tyler Behrends were first team on both sides of the ball. Brian Appleman was first team at linebacker and second team at running back, Westin Montavon was first team at defensive back and second team at wide receiver, C.J. Shields was first team at wide receiver and second team at defensive back and Taylor Doege was first-team punter and honorable mention kicker.

Running back Cody Richardson was a unanimous first-team choice. Also honored for A/L were quarterback Steven Apple (second team), center Matt Bickett (second team), linebacker Danny Bontz (honorable mention) and linebackers Johny and Billy Longmire (second team).

The Storm also had six players earn all-conference status at multiple positions. Austin Peterson earned three first-team all-conference spots at wide receiver, return specialist and defensive back. Michael Weidner was also a three-time honoree with unanimous first-team status at running back, first-team honors at linebacker and a spot at punter.

Ryan Hix was first team at defensive back and honorable mention at running back, Richard Brummel was first team on both sides of the line, Jack Brousseau was first-team defensive line and second-team offensive line and Joe DeVenney was second-team defensive line and honorable mention offensive line.

Also earning all-conference for the Storm were quarterback John King (first team), center Sam Hatten (first team), linebacker Sam Lowers (second team) and defensive back Tanner Schoff (second team).

Defensive lineman Kyle Current and linebacker Nick Hueneburg were St. Bede's only first-team selections.

Also honored for the Bruins were guard Justin Curly (second team), tackle Brian Pyszka (second team), wide receivers Kevin King and Paul Perona (honorable mention) and punter Ryne Denis (honorable mention).

Guard Alex Anderson and wide receiver Nate Louis earned second-team all-conference for River Valley.

Morrison's Cory Bielema was named Coach of the Year and Morrison running back Josh Vos was voted Player of the Year.

Trotter, Gills named preseason All-American

IVCC women's basketball player Virgina Trotter has been named a Division II NJCAA first-team preseason All-American, while men's player Mike Gills is a third-team selection.

Trotter averaged 16 points, 4.2 rebounds, 5.5 assists and 2.4 steals last season to help the Lady Eagles to a 27-7 record, a Region IV title and a berth in the NJCAA tournament.

Gills averaged 13.4 points, 5.8 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 2.1 steals last year.

The Lady Eagles open the season Nov. 6 at the Waubonsee tournament, and the men start at home on Nov. 5.

A real time look at local businesses social media postings.

Recommended for you

Load comments